EdTech 503 – Module 2 Reflection

This week, I had trouble with the reading, comprehension-wise.  I was unable to get the definition of “epistemology” to stick with me.  Here is the definition from Dictionary.com for the sake of posterity:

“Epistemology is a branch of philosophy that investigates the limits, origin, methods and nature of human knowledge.” (n.d.).

I was never able to tie all of the readings together, for either myself or the writing assignment, this week.  For instance, I am not 100% certain that Social Constructivism is a Theory and not a major school of thought.  However, I don’t think that it is a major school of thought.

The theory of Social Constructivism mirrors the way I think education should be and not necessarily the way that I actually perceive it.  What I mean by that is that I think all students should have as much support as they need, but only as long as necessary.  Personally, I didn’t receive enough support, up through junior high.  In high school, my scaffolding was probably a little over-constructed.  In college, the construction was still solid, but it was reasonable.  It took me a long time to learn how to be a student and I can now be successful, but that doesn’t mean that it is without some major effort. (Jonassen, 2012, Pg 272).
 
My difficulty may come from being a “methodical learner,” as a beloved teacher once referred to me.  At first I was taken aback – this was in high school and I was a rock star (weren’t we all) – but then I thought about it and he was correct.  I took (and still take) my time with things because I find them to be challenging, because I enjoy what I’m doing, because I want them to be done correctly, or it could be a combination of all of the above.
 
To be continued…
 
References:
  1. Jonassen, D., & Land, S. (Eds.). (2012). Theoretical Foundations of Learning Environments (2nd ed.). Routledge.
  2. The Definition of Epistemology. (n.d.).Dictionary.com. Retrieved June 21, 2012, from http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/epistemology?s=t
Leave a Reply

