ET 504 – Module 3 Reflection

If I did more teaching, I think I would be interested in applying cognitive load theory (Impelluso, 2009), which has you trying to tie previous information to current information to future information.  I think it is something that I would try and do anyway – I definitely want what my students are learning to be relevant.  When I started teaching, it was really difficult to think beyond the current module and trying to make sure that students are getting what they need to get out of it.  I can hardly imagine having kept the entire course in mind.  That’s how I built the course, too – rather than thinking about the whole picture, I’d look at in a piecemeal fashion and if I’m honest, I have been able to glean that from my design classes, so far.  It is a little bit easier for me to look at a whole picture, now rather than at just one piece of the puzzle at a time.

Constructivism was mentioned in a couple of the articles I read, in preparation for our annotated bibiliography.  The first article (Baitz, 2009) was just about concept maps, and before taking instructional design, back in the Spring (it seems like such a long time ago), I’d never really considered the usefulness of a concept map.  This article provided several ideas for utilizing concept maps in the classroom.  I think it could be useful for my students, if I had them write a paper on a particular mathematician.  It might also be fun to try creating a concept maps for connections between numbers – whole numbers, prime numbers, imaginary numbers, real numbers, etc.

Socio-Technical Systems Theory (STST) (Wang, Solan and Ghods, 2010) was a lot like Transactional Distance theory (Benson and Samrawichrema, 2009) in that it provides kind of framework for developing a course.  In that sense, it is really useful for someone like me, who is still fairly new to teaching.  STST includes 7 principles of good practice and spells each of them out for you.  They definitely apply to distance learning and it’s something I can keep in mind, if I teach again, next year.

Leave a Reply

