Learning Online, Part 1

There’s a new term of school upon those of us in higher education on a quarter system, so I thought it might be helpful to talk about a few of thing I’ve learned in 5 years of taking online classes (and a few spent supporting students taking online classes).

When I initially started taking online classes, I wasn’t very successful even though I had been through classes where instructors used Blackboard as a resource center.

My biggest problem with online classes has always been time management (& I’ve taken a lot of online classes). So, pace yourself. Don’t wait until the last minute to get things turned in. Use a calendar… and I mean really USE A CALENDAR. Don’t just write the assignment due dates on it and never look at it, again.

Here are some tools I like (there are probably better/ different ones out there, but these have been good org tools/ friends to me).

Paper planners

Apps/ Electronic Calendars

Other Productivity Tools

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

